Speed bumps, utility insurance on DI agenda

Courtney Strahan and Minniequa Scott introduced themselves to the Dixie Inn Board of Aldermen and Mayor at its regular meeting Tuesday. Pictured (clockwise from left) are Aldermen Nell Finlay, Judy McKenzie, Lance Milligan, Strahan, Mayor Donna Hoffoss, and Scott. The two will provide tech support to the village for $25 an hour, with a one hour minimum.

By Marilyn Miller

Speed bumps, utility insurance and the acquisition of a third party IT team headed up the agenda for the regular monthly meeting of the Dixie Inn Board of Aldermen on Tuesday, Aug. 8, 2023.

Police Chief Alan Davis said that there were two potential solutions to the speed bump problem – pull them up and see what happens after a 60 to 90-day period; or take them off of strategic areas.

The speed bumps have caused much consternation on the part of Dixie Inn citizens because of their height and design. “They are pretty intense,” Chief Davis said. He suggested that they could be taken up and stored while village leaders look at different styles, and determine strategic areas where they should be placed, like near the park.

Former Dixie Inn Police Chief James Edwards said that the speed bumps “are the only thing we ever found to stop speeders. Once they are pulled up, it’s going to be wide open with drivers trying to beat the light (at the intersection of Hwy. 80 and Hwy. 371).”

Chief Davis requested that the decision be delayed until village leaders can look at different styles and strategic placement. The aldermen agreed.

Two Information Technology (IT) specialists who are on contract with the Webster Parish School Board have agreed to assist the Village of Dixie Inn with their IT needs beginning immediately. Courtney Strahan and Minniequa Scott will troubleshoot problems, install software, and perform other duties required of a Third Party Contractor for IT.

“They are very capable, and can handle any situation,” Chief Davis told the aldermen.

The tech support duo will work on an “as-needed” basis for a fee of $25 an hour, with a minimum of one hour. “We will be here when you need us. Please understand that we are on contract with the WPSB, so they will come first,” Strahan said. A motion to hire Scott and Strahan passed unanimously.

In other business, the board:

  • Approved funds requested by Water/Maintenance supervisor Mike Chreene for two additional cameras, one for the maintenance plant and another for the sewer plant. Guardian Alarm quoted a price of $2,424 for both cameras. The board also approved funding (capping at $5,000) for replacement of valves that will not open at the sewer plant;
  • Heard a report from Police Chief Davis concerning the possibility of Dixie Inn hosting a grant-writing class. If Dixie Inn hosts the class, it gets two free seats. Chief Davis would like to attend the class;
  • Heard a report from Dan Dansby of ServLine regarding an insurance program that would assist homeowners in Dixie Inn with high water bills caused by leaks. For a minimal cost of $1 to $1.35 a month, customers who experience water loss from leaks can contact ServLine to have the leakage portion of their bill reimbursed. Mayor Donna Hoffoss invited Dansby to send more information on the program, including brochures that can be distributed to citizens. He agreed to send a proposal to the board and mayor, including brochures. He told the board that “Haughton homeowners love it.”
  • Unanimously passed a motion to promote Alan Davis to the position of Chief of Police;

Mike Griffith, a member of the Webster Parish Police Jury representing District 5 (including Dixie Inn and Cotton Valley), introduced himself to the Board and Mayor. “I am here for you,” Griffith said. “All you have to do is call me and I will be here.”

Following the passing of Bernard Hudson, the Webster Parish Police Juror for District 5, the Webster Parish Police Jury held a special meeting in February of 2023 to appoint Mike Griffith to fill the seat until the end of the term set to expire Jan. 7, 2024. Griffith qualified to run for the office on Tuesday, Aug. 8, 2023. The election will take place in October.