
By Melanie Townsend and land research done by Denny McMullan
Located at 406 3rd Street NW in Springhill, sits a cottage style home built in the early 1940’s, shaded by large old trees that has witnessed the transformation of time and whispers the stories of days gone by. This grand old home was generously donated to LaMa Animal Rescue and Support Services in late 2023 by the Boone family.
LaMa Animal Rescue and Support Services is a non-profit, volunteer-based group advocating for the many homeless, abused and neglected animals in Northwest Louisiana and surrounding areas. LaMa has a reposed the single-family home into The Oak Cottage, a Bed & Breakfast and event venue.
Built around 1941, the original owners of the home, Floyd and Ruby Barnes purchased the homesite from Frost Lumber Industries. Frost purchased the land from the Pine Woods Lumber Company that had prospered since 1896 when they located a sawmill in the community. The area flourished from its rich source of timber and for a time was a boomtown. The area was initially informally referred to as “Piney Woods” and attracted many settlers. In 1894, while still unincorporated, the community took the name “Barefoot, Louisiana”. This name was inspired by the observation that many men in the area went to work without shoes. Finally, in 1902, the town was officially incorporated as Springhill. Pine Woods lumber Company went out of business during the Great Depression and its facility was purchased by the Frost Lumber company. The most significant economic impact to ever affect Springhill was the establishment of the paper mill in 1937 by The International Paper Company. It was during these years of growth, that Frost Lumber Industries subdivision was developed for housing for the IP paper mill employees that migrated to Springhill.
Walking through the spacious rooms of the home, you feel the grandeur of its early days and sense stories that were told on the front porch under the towering oak trees. LaMa has lovingly repaired and restored it in detail to its time of southern charm and hospitality. From the fine crystal and the antique furnishings, Oak Cottage welcomes guest to step back in time, listen to the songs of yesteryear on the old turntable and experience a simpler time.
An Open House is scheduled for Sunday, April 14th from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. Refreshments will be provided. The first event, a murder mystery set in the 1920’s, “Murder On The Boardwalk” is scheduled for April 20th at 6:00 p.m. Tickets must be purchased in advance by calling 318-272-6093 and will be on a first come basis. All proceeds go to support LaMa Animal Rescue in their efforts to provide care for the many animals in our community that need help. LaMa looks forward to welcoming guest for other events and private parties. For more information, please visit The Oaks Cottage Facebook page.