Council approves new police officers in special session

Minden Police Chief Steve Cropper (second from left) with new police hires Kayla Little (from left), Joel Alex Faulk and Logan Clingan.

By Bonnie Culverhouse

The City of Minden Police Department has three new officers following a special session of the city council Thursday.

With three councilpersons present, Kayla Little and Logan Clingan were voted in unanimously by District A Councilman Wayne Edwards, District B Councilwoman Terika Walker and District E Councilwoman Pam Bloxom.

For Joel Alex Faulk, the vote was 2 to 1, with Walker casting the dissenting vote.

Walker refused to answer questions concerning her vote, although she asked questions of the prospective officers concerning their residency, how they learned about the openings and pay.

District C Councilman Vincen Bradford and District D Councilman Michael Roy were not in attendance.

Please see Tuesday’s Webster Parish Journal for a more in-depth story on the new hires.

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE