Council unanimously OKs all agenda items at meeting

All five council members approved last month’s meeting minutes.

By Bonnie Culverhouse

For the first time in close to four years, members of the Minden City Council voted unanimously to accept the minutes of last month’s meeting.

After setting the stage for the rest of their first meeting together, council members went on to approve all agenda items the same way.

District D Councilman Michael Roy, the only returning face to the group, was elected Mayor Pro Tempore for 2023. 

District A Councilman Carlton “Buddy” Myles made the motion, with a second by District B Councilman Levon “Charlie” Thomas. Again, the vote was unanimous with Roy abstaining.

Also unanimous were votes to appoint Michael Fluhr as City Clerk and Jimbo Yocom as City Attorney.

Other housekeeping items included granting credit card signatory power to Mayor Nick Cox and Administrative Assistant Ashlee Drake and removing Mahala Hutto as Main Street Program/Downtown Development Director from the same.

Cox was added to signatory power over checks, along with Michael Roy, Michael Fluhr and Assistant City Clerk Melaney Langford.

Beginning with next month’s council meeting, time will be changed from 5:30 p.m. to 6 p.m.

Other items include the following:

  • A resolution for municipal water pollution prevention;
  • Budget/Financial report for November 2022;
  • Police Report for November 2022; and
  • Annual Fire Report for 2022.
From left, Minden Police Chief Jared McIver; council persons Carlton “Buddy” Myles, District A; Levon “Charlie” Thomas, Dist. B; Mayor Nick Cox; Latasha Anderson Mitchell, Dist. C; Michael Roy, Dist. D; and Andy Pendergrass, Dist. E.

To report an issue or typo with this articleCLICK HERE