Central Elementary joins ranks of NEHS

By Paige Nash

Central Elementary School now has an elementary chapter of the National Honor Society. They are the first elementary school in the district to provide this prestigious program to students in fourth and fifth grades.  

This new organization at Central Elementary School was chartered by fourth grade teacher Joni Aulds. She said, “I chartered the organization because I feel it is important not only to promote academic excellence but to recognize those students who do excel in that area.” 

The National Elementary Honor Society (NEHS) was designed to recognize the accomplishments and achievements of selected students – at school, home and within their communities. Every NEHS member demonstrates all qualities of the four pillars that the program is built upon- Scholarship, Service, Leadership and Responsibility.  

“I also feel these are most important to instill in our youth today as we guide, teach, and grow our students into young adults who give back to their community,” said Aulds.  

Jenifer Francis, Chloe Ashley and Lacey Berry joined Aulds to serve as the faculty council.  

They are looking forward to the 2023-2024 school year and having the newly established Central NEHS serve their community in several ways. They intend to assist at the SEEDS Women’s Center, Joe LeBlanc Food pantry and area nursing homes.  


“Our students will provide a helping hand and learn valuable life skills while promoting the four pillars of the honor society,” said Aulds. “I feel that this experience in elementary will indeed inspire students to have a service mindset, be a leader, keep pushing to excel academically and just be an all-around good citizen.” 

Aulds along with the faculty council chose students to be admitted into Central’s first NEHS and recognized them with an Induction Ceremony held last Tuesday, May 23.  

Fourth grade students inducted include: 

Jayla Bailey, Lexi Barnett, Presley Barton, Callie Bates, Jules Beard, Karlee Brewer, Brantley Burrell, Alli Chandler, Baylli Chandler, Claire Cooper, Sawyer Fleming, Isabelle Foust, Bryleigh Grubbs, Emmaline Harmon, Brooklyn Johnson, Skyler Marques, Grant Meshell, Beaux Monday, Ada Murphy, Gracey Reynolds, Eastyn Pate, Kylie Richardson, Haley Thorn, Karly Watts and Anniebeth Williams. 

Fifth grade students inducted include: 

Jacob Aulds, Jade Boyette, Thomas Chibnick, Ja’Kylin Chipps, Derek Clark, Braleigh Dale, Chase Daniel, Evan Edwards, Skylar Ellis, Sarah Finklea, Adleigh Harris, Colston Hill, Madisyn Jernigan, Autumn Lagars, Brayleigh Lewis, Lillian Wallace, Ella Wood and Kynlee Wood.  

Assistant Principal of Lakeside Jr./Sr. High School was a guest speaker at the ceremony.