National Football Foundation releases watch list; 2 Glenbrook players onboard

The 2023 North Louisiana Preseason Scholar-Athlete Watch List, presented by the S.M. McNaughton Chapter of the National Football Foundation, recognizes remarkable high school seniors in north and central Louisiana who have been nominated by their coaches. These young men have at least a 3.2 grade point average, have won all-district honors, and are involved in extracurricular activities. 

A total of 38 elite scholar-athletes are included on the third annual North Louisiana Preseason Scholar-Athlete Watch List, two of whom attend Glenbrook School in Minden – Landry Powell and Chase Sentell.

This Watch List is designed to provide recognition during the season for young men in the 318 area code who are high achieving senior football players.

This Watch List will be updated monthly throughout the season as nominations are received. Additional nominees may be submitted by text from head coaches to NFF board member Doug Ireland at 318-471-2086. 

Additionally, KTBS Channel 3 in Shreveport is honoring the memory and legacy of former NFF Board member Bob Griffin, the iconic sportscaster at KSLA and then KTBS for over 50 years, by weekly presentations of a Griffin’s Game Ball to one of the players on the NFF Scholar-Athlete Watch List. The winners will be featured by KTBS weekly, and will be eligible for a separate Griffin’s Game Ball Scholar-Athlete Scholarship at the close of the 2023 season, presented by KTBS. The NFF will solicit scholarship nominations after the season and will present eight $1,000 scholarships next spring.

Griffin, a 2009 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame inductee as a sports journalist, covered Ark-La-Tex high school football in an incredible six decades before he passed away early in 2020. The following year, Griffin’s family members traveled around the area throughout the season presenting Griffin’s Game Balls to winning teams in the “Griffin’s Game of the Week” as he did for years. Because of Griffin’s commitment to the NFF Scholar-Athlete program, the S.M. McNaughton Chapter of the NFF and KTBS have created this partnership to celebrate these outstanding seniors. 

The local NFF chapter encourages media to recognize these remarkable young men for being leaders in their schools and on their teams, epitomizing high accomplishment as a competitor, a scholar and a responsible citizen.

The initial group of high school seniors nominated for the NFF’s North Louisiana Preseason Scholar-Athlete  Watch List:

Mixon Bankston, QB/FS, St. Mary’s HS

Lake Bates, DB, North DeSoto HS

Quantavious Bradford, OL, Huntington HS

Aeron Burrell, K, Parkway HS

Ethan Busby, WR/CB, St. Mary’s HS

Jacoby Bussey, DL, Mansfield HS

Cameron Calderon, C, Alexandria Senior HS

Reagan Coyle, RB/FS, Loyola College Prep

Jeremiah Echols, LB, Mansfield HS

Grant Edmonson, WR, West Monroe HS

Kaleb Evans, DT, Sterlington HS

Travis Flowers, OL, Benton HS

Jude Gaitan, LB/TE, Loyola College Prep

Hutch Grace, SS, Calvary Baptist Academy

Heath Gross, OL/LB, Calvary Baptist Academy

Bradley Hanlon, WR, Neville HS

Hutson Hearron, QB/P, Northwood HS

Jake Jones, LB, Winnfield HS

Lawson Lillo, RB/LB, Cedar Creek HS

Eli Little, OL, Winnfield HS

Noah Lucas, G/DT, Jonesboro Hodge HS

Delarrious Marshall, WR/FS, Green Oaks HS

Marshall Messier, S, Northwood HS

Emmory Minnieweather, C/OG/DT, Rayville HS

Jackson Moore, NG, Sterlington HS

Abram Murray, K/P, C.E. Byrd HS

Robert “Bob” Patterson, TE, Airline HS

**Landry Powell, LB Glenbrook Academy

Aaron Reddix, RB, Plain Dealing HS

Gabriel Reliford, DE/OLB, Evangel Christian Academy

Kevin Richardson OL/DL, Green Oaks HS

Cooper Scott, MLB, Holy Savior Menard HS

Chase Sentell, RB, Glenbrook Academy

Garrett Taylor, ATH/WR/DB/K, St. Frederick HS

Ladd Thompson, QB/DB, Cedar Creek HS

Carter Wells, FS, Parkway HS

Cody Wilhite, TE/WR, Benton HS

Landry Wyatt, WR, North DeSoto HS

  • 38 total scholar-athletes