MCC fundraiser just around the corner

The 2022 Minden Charity Classic, a fundraiser to help families in need, is just around the corner. As of Monday, there were four slots available for the June 3-5 event, now in its 19th year.

A golf tournament, along with an auction, is the main source of fund-raising for this foundation.

The foundation has Section 501(c)(3), tax-exempt status, with the Internal Revenue Service.


5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. Cocktail Hour & Games

6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. Dinner

7:30 p.m. – 9 p.m. Auction & Raffle


7:30 a.m. Morning Flights Shotgun Start

11 a.m. – 2 p.m. Lunch available for Players at the Clubhouse

1 p.m. Afternoon Flights Shotgun Start

6:30 p.m. Ball Drop

6:45 p.m. Calcutta


7:30 a.m. Morning Flights Shotgun Start

1 p.m. Afternoon Flights Shotgun Start

THURSDAY (Following)

Scores audited & checks mailed out

Flight Payouts

1st Place – $1,500

2nd Place – $1,000

3rd Place – $750

4th Place – $500

 ** Two-person teams

** Entry fee/Sponsorship – $1,100 Includes all food and drinks
** Pre-Flighted
** All flights scramble both days
** Flights, Championship, Presidential and First start at 1 p.m. both days. Flights 2, 3 and 4 start at 7:30 a.m. both days.

** This is a private fundraising event. Spectators are welcome. If spectators want to eat and drink, they will be required to pay $100 per person, per day.

The goal of Minden Foundation, a nonprofit organization, is to maintain a fund to provide charitable assistance, within the Minden area, primarily for those needs not specifically met by other charities or organizations.  Some examples would be assisting a family that has suffered a house fire, a flood or a family stricken with a devastating illness that creates a financial hardship.

Monies are distributed by application only, and the group does not advertise. They seek input from ministers, principals and social workers regarding families in need.  Decisions regarding disbursements are made by a board of not less than five persons. Current members of this board are Hodson Brown, Lindsay Collins, Zach Goodman, Patrick Miller, Jason Ogwyn, Andy Pendergrass, Kristin Utphall and Candi Wimberly