Museum cast call! Lights … camera … action … Auction!

By Marilyn Miller

The Dorcheat Museum will celebrate its 16th year of preserving Webster Parish history on Monday, Sept. 11, 2023 from 6 to 8 p.m. “Lights, Camera, Action….and Auction” is the theme of this year’s fundraiser, which will take place at the museum complex at 116 Pearl Street in Downtown Minden.

“The theme of the evening will be movies and TV shows with characters we all have come to love,” said Jessica Stewart Gorman, museum director and archivist. “This will be a fun night to see some of your favorite character alter ego characters.”

“Let your imagination flow! Find that perfect outfit and come support the museum,” Gorman continued. “But be warned, if you come as a Louisiana character, all alligators will be checked at the door!

The highlight of the evening will be an auction of baked goods, which can be donated at the door or by calling 318-377-3002 for pick-up.

Two Minden “characters” – Richard “Dr. Feelgood” Campbell and Tracy “TLC Picker” Campbell – will serve as auctioneers for the event.

The cost of the event will be $25 in advance (response cards and checks are due Sept. 1) and $30 at the door on Sept. 11. Checks can also be dropped off at the museum until Friday, Sept. 8. Call 318-377-3002 to donate baked goods or for more information.

All event patrons will be entered for a chance to win a door prize. Refreshments will be served.

“To make an online donation, visit our website,,” said Schelley Brown Francis,” museum director.

Officers and directors currently serving Dorcheat Museum are Mike Harper, President; Marcel Vandenoord, Vice-President; Janet LaBruyere, Treasurer; Lola Morgan Kidd, Recording Secretary; Schelley Brown Francis, Museum Director; Jessica Stewart Gorman as Museum Assistant Director and Archivist; directors Charlotte Martin, Richard Campbell, Becky Marvin, Kay Elzen, Jo McCullough, Mary Ann Hamilton, Lucy Adkins, Rachel Miller, Ki Williams, Sandy Wilkie, Bob Wilkie, Gary Haynes, Ronald Swafford, Scott McCullough, Melanie McCullough, Melissa Marvin Brown and Robert Denmon; Emeritus Board Members Louise Baird Snook, past President 2008 – 2022; Charlotte Jones 2015 – 2022, Ann Harlan, Past Recording Secretary 2007 – 2003, Cora Lou Robinson 2008 – 2022, Dianne McGuire 2015 – 2019; Carleton Prothro 2008 – 2017.