One last look at Saturday’s ballot

By Journal Staff

If you didn’t vote early, Saturday is the day for you to exercise your rights. Here’s a look at what voters will see when they cast their ballot: 

Gubernatorial (for governor) candidates are: Benjamin Barnes of Angola, Patrick Henry “Dat” Barthel of St. Rose, Daniel M. “Danny” Cole of Trout, Xavier Ellis of Opelousas, “Kaitron” Gagnon of Metairie, Sharon W. Hewitt of Baton Rouge, Jeffery Istre of Kaplan, “Xan” John of Lafayette, “Jeff” Landry of Broussard, Hunter Lundy of Lake Charles, Richard Nelson of Mandeville, John Schroder of Baton Rouge, Frank Scurlock of Metairie, Stephen “Wags” Waguespack of Abbeville and Shawn Wilson of Baton Rouge.

Lieutenant Governor: Elbert “Pawpaw” Guillory of Opelousas, “Tami” Hotard of Madisonville, Willie Jones of New Orleans, William “Billy” Nungesser of Metairie, Bruce Payton of Bush and Gary Rispone of Greenwell Springs.

Secretary of State: “Gwen” Collins-Greenup of Baton Rouge, “Mike” Francis of Crowley, Amanda “Smith” Jennings of West Monroe, Thomas J. Kennedy III of New Orleans, Nancy Landry of Baton Rouge, Arthur A. Morrell of New Orleans, Clay Schexnayder of Sorrento, and Brandon Trosclair of Gonzales.

Attorney General: Lindsey Cheek of New Orleans, “Marty” Maley of Baton Rouge, “Liz” Baker Murrill of Baton Rouge, John Stefanski of Crowley and Perry Walker Terrebonne of New Orleans.

Treasurer: John Fleming of Minden, Dustin Granger of Lake Charles and Scott McKnight of Baton Rouge.

Commissioner of Insurance: “Tim” Temple of Baton Rouge runs unopposed. R.D. “Rich” Weaver withdrew.

BESE District 4: Paige Houffpauir of Shreveport, Stacey Melerine of Shreveport and Emma Shepard of Shreveport.

State Senator, District 31: “Mike” McConathy of Natchitoches and Alan Seabaugh of Shreveport.

State Senator, District 33: Stewart Cathey Jr. of Monroe and Harvey “Ned” White of Monroe.

State Senator, District 36: Adam Bass and incumbent Robert Mills of Bossier City.

Webster Tax Assessor: Incumbent Denise Edwards of Minden and Sharon Duncan of Cotton Valley.

Webster Parish Police Jury District 3: Incumbent Daniel G. Thomas of Springhill and Patricia A. McMurray of Sarepta.

Webster Parish Police Jury District 5: Mike Griffith, George Rice and Cynt Walker of Minden, Willie Robinson of Cotton Valley. Ricky Thomas of Minden withdrew.

Webster Parish Police Jury District 8: Nancy Hines and Winky Newer of Minden.

Webster Parish Police Jury District 10: Johnnye Lennon, Darrell Morris and Latanya Grigsby, all of Minden.

Aldermen Town of Cullen: Lacandy Gipson and Terry Lewis, both of Cullen. 

Also on the ballot are four proposed constitutional amendments. They are as follows:

CA No. 1 (ACT 200, 2023 – HB 311) – Prohibits the use of private funds in the administration of elections. (Select 1)

Do you support an amendment to prohibit the use of funds, goods, or services from a foreign government or a nongovernmental source to conduct elections and election functions and duties unless the use is authorized by the secretary of state through policies established in accordance with law? (Adds Article XI, Section 6)

CA No. 2 (ACT 30, 2023 – SB 63) – Provides that the freedom of worship is a fundamental right worthy of the highest protection. (Select 1)

Do you support an amendment to provide that the freedom of worship in a church or other place of worship is a fundamental right that is worthy of the highest order of protection? (Adds Const. Article XII, Section 17)

CA No. 3 (ACT 107, 2023 – HB 47) – Dedicates certain payments to be applied to the state retirement system unfunded accrued liability. (Select 1)

Do you support an amendment to require that a minimum of twenty-five percent of any money designated as nonrecurring state revenue be applied toward the balance of the unfunded accrued liability of the state retirement systems? (Amends Article VII, Section 10(D)(2)(b)(ii) and (iii))

CA No. 4 (ACT 48, 2023 – HB 46) – Restricts ad valorem tax exemptions for certain nonprofit organizations. (Select 1)

Do you support an amendment to deny a property tax exemption to a nonprofit corporation or association that owns residential property in such a state of disrepair that it endangers public health or safety? (Amends Article VII, Section 21(B))

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m. Saturday, October 14.